ستيفن أ. سيش

نائب الرئيس التنفيذي

يشغل السيد ستيفن أ. سيش منصب نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لمعهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن.

أمضى 35 عامًا كضابط مفوض في السلك الديبوماسي الأمريكي. ومن العام 2011 حتى العام 2013، شغل منصب نائب مساعد الأمين العام في مكتب شؤون الشرق الأدنى في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية، وتولى مسؤولية العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي من جهة والولايات المتحدة واليمن من جهة أخرى. وكان السفير الأمريكي في اليمن بين الأعوام 2007 و2010.

خلال السنة الأكاديمية 2006-2007، كان السفير سيش زميلًا زائرًا في جامعة كاليفورنيا الجنوبية، حيث درّس الديبلوماسية العامة ضمن برنامج شهادة الماجستير. وعند عودته من اليمن، أمضى سنة في معهد الدراسات الديبلوماسية في جامعة جورج تاون، قاد خلالها ندوة للخريجين في كلية الخدمة الخارجية.

من شباط/فبراير 2005 حتى آب/أغسطس 2006، شغل السفير سيش منصب قائم بأعمال السفارة الأمريكية في دمشق، سوريا. وخلال الأشهر الستة التي سبقت تعيينه في هذا المنصب، كان نائب رئيس البعثة. وبدأت بعدها فترة خدمته الثانية في دمشق. وبين الأعوام 1999 و2002، كان سيش مستشار الشؤون العامة ومدير المركز الثقافي الأمريكي. وأمضى السنتين اللتين تفصلان فترتي خدمته في دمشق كمدير مكتب شؤون مصر والمشرق في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في عاصمة واشنطن.

وأمضى السفير سيش أول سبع سنوات من عمله في السلك الديبلوماسي في مناصب الديبلوماسية العامة في غواتيمالا وبيرو وبوليفيا. وشملت مهامه الأخرى ما وراء البحار أوتاوا في كندا ونيودلهي في الهند. وقد نال شهادته الجامعية من جامعة ماساتشوستس في أمهرست، وأمضى أربع سنوات كصحافي قبل انضمامه إلى السلك الديبلوماسي.

وهو متأهل الى السيدة سوزان كانينغ ولديهما ثلاث بنات.

منشورات content-type in which the post is published

الجغرافيا الاقتصادية لإعادة الإعمار في اليمن

لقد تسبب الصراع الدائر في اليمن بخسائر كارثية لأهل البلاد والاقتصاد والبنية التحتية والمؤسسات، بالإضافة إلى ما وراء ذلك من روابط.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي يصبح الجبهة الأحدث في حرب اليمن

نظرًا إلى المأزق العسكري الذي يحكم الميدان في اليمن، توشك المعركة التالية المهمة في هذه الحرب على أن تندلع داخل مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

معركة عدن لا تحتل وحدها الواجهة في اليمن

اشتدت حدّة الصراع بين الانفصاليين في جنوب اليمن وعناصر من الحكومة اليمنية المنفية المستقرّين في عدن وتفجّر الوضع في أواخر كانون الثاني/ يناير.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

تشكيل الجنوب: الإمارات العربية المتحدة في اليمن

كلما تتضح معالم جدول أعمال الإمارات العربية المتحدة الطموح في جنوب اليمن أكثر فأكثر، تتبلور أيضًا الخلافات بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحكومة الرئيس اليمني المنفي عبد ربه منصور هادي.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

اليمن على مفترق طرق: أوقف الحرب وإلا فإن رقعتها ستتسع

أحيى وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مجددًا هذا الأسبوع الآمال المعلّقة حول احتمالية توصّل المفاوضات إلى حل لإنهاء الحرب التي دامت طويلًا في اليمن إذ صرّح فور وصوله إلى أبوظبي بأن كلًّا من العصيان الحوثي المسلّح والتحالف العسكري الذي تقوده المملكة العربية السعودية قد وافقا على وقف الأعمال العدائية ابتداءً من 17 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الاتفاق النووي الإيراني يخدم مصلحة الفريقين، فلمَ كل هذه الشكاوى؟

بات بإمكان دول الخليج العربية أن تتنفس الصعداء حيال تزايد حدة العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران بعد مرور عام على توقيع “خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة”، التي تُعرف أيضًا بالاتفاق النووي الإيراني.

Ambassador Stephen A. Seche

Executive Vice President

Ambassador Stephen A. Seche is the executive vice president of the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington.

He spent 35 years as a career U.S. Foreign Service officer. From 2011-13, Seche served as deputy assistant secretary in the Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs at the Department of State, with responsibility for U.S. relations with the GCC states and Yemen. He served as the U.S. ambassador to Yemen from 2007-10.

During the 2006-07 academic year, Seche was a visiting fellow at the University of Southern California, where he taught public diplomacy in the master’s degree program. On his return from Yemen, he spent a year at the Institute for the Study of Diplomacy at Georgetown University, leading a graduate seminar in the School of Foreign Service.

From February 2005 to August 2006, Seche served as charge d’affaires at the U.S. Embassy in Damascus, Syria; he was deputy of chief of mission for the six months prior. This was his second tour in Damascus. From 1999 to 2002, Seche was the counselor for public affairs and the director of the American Cultural Center. He spent the two years between his Damascus assignments as director of the Office for Egypt and Levant Affairs at the Department of State in Washington, DC.

Seche spent the first seven years of his Foreign Service career in public diplomacy positions in Guatemala, Peru, and Bolivia. Other overseas assignments have included Ottawa, Canada and New Delhi, India. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and spent four years as a journalist before entering the Foreign Service.

He is married to Susan Canning; the couple has three daughters.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

U.S. Senate Becomes the Newest Front in Yemen’s War

Given the military stalemate on the ground in Yemen, it may be that the next meaningful battle in that war is about to be fought on the floor of the U.S.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Aden Conflict Not the Only Yemen News Worth Following

A simmering conflict between separatists in Southern Yemen and Aden-based elements of Yemen’s exiled government spilled out into the open in late January.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Analysis: Saleh's Death Deeply Complicates Efforts to Resolve Yemen War

The death of Yemen’s former president, Ali Abdullah Saleh, will create an enormous vacuum in the country’s political life — one that is unlikely to be filled easily or quickly by anyone else.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Can Saleh’s Death End Yemen’s “Equilibrium of Misery”?

It would be no small irony if, in death, former Yemeni President Ali Abdullah Saleh advances the cause of peace in his impoverished homeland far more than he ever seemed interested in doing during the final years of his life.

Commentary content-type in which the post is published

Yemen: The View from Riyadh

Meetings in Riyadh with senior Yemeni and Saudi officials offered little hope that the war in Yemen is anywhere near its end.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Shaping the South: The UAE in Yemen

As the contours of the United Arab Emirates’ ambitious agenda in southern Yemen continue to become more evident, so do the differences between the UAE and the government of Yemen’s exiled President Abd-Rabbu Mansour Hadi.

Commentary content-type in which the post is published

The World's Forgotten War

Hopes that an end to Yemen’s punishing civil war might be within reach were briefly ignited last month.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Yemen at a Crossroads: End the War or Watch It Metastasize

U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry ignited hopes again this week that Yemen’s protracted war may come to a negotiated end, when he announced upon arriving in Abu Dhabi that both the armed Houthi insurgency and the Saudi-led military coalition have agreed to a cessation of hostilities to begin November 17.