ياسر الشِشتاوي

زميل غير مقيم

ياسر الشِشتاوي هو زميل غير مقيم في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. وهو أستاذ في الهندسة المعمارية وباحث مستقل. وتتمحور دراساته حول التحضر في المجتمعات النامية، والتحضر غير الحكومي، والتاريخ الحضري، ودراسات السلوك البيئي، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على مدن الشرق الأوسط. ويعمل حاليًّا أستاذًا مساعدًا في كلية الدراسات العليا في الهندسة المعمارية والتخطيط والصيانة في جامعة كولومبيا، حيث يعمل مدرسًا لدورة حول الإسكان في العالم العربي. درّس في جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في الفترة ما بين 1997 -2017، وعين قيمًا على جناح الإمارات العربية المتحدة في معرض بينالي البندقية للهندسة المعمارية الخامس عشر في عام 2016. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد كان أستاذًا زائرًا في جامعة السوربون باريس خلال فصل الخريف من عام 2017.

وقد كتب الششتاوي أكثر من 70 مؤلَّفًا منشورًا، بما في ذلك دبي: خلف المشهد الحضري، وهو مرجع رئيسي حول التنمية الحضرية في المدينة (ويأتي في المرتبة الأولى في تصنيف موقع الأمازون تحت “تاريخ الإمارات العربية المتحدة” في أيلول 2017). كما قام بتحرير “المدينة العربية المتطورة: التقليد والحداثة والتنمية”، الذي حصل على جائزة أفضل كتاب لتاريخ التخطيط الدولي عام 2010، وتخطيط مدن الشرق الأوسط: مشكال حضري. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، نُشر فصلان عن التنمية الحضرية في العالم العربي في قراء تخطيط المدن والتصميم الحضري المعروفة على نطاق واسع، ويتألف الفصلان من النصوص الرئيسية المؤثرة في التخطيط والتصميم الحضريين. وهو يعمل حاليًّا على كتاب عن المدينة الخليجة العربية الذي يحمل العنوان المؤقت “المدن المؤقتة”.

قدم الششتاوي أبحاثه في العديد من المؤسسات الدولية مثل معهد اللغات والحضارات الشرقية (INALCO)، جامعة السوربون- باريس سيتي، جامعة نيويورك- أبو ظبي (NYU-AD)، بوليتنيكو ميلانو، جامعة ماكاو، جامعة تونجي- شنغهاي، كلية الدراسات العليا للتصميم في هارفارد، المعهد الفيدرالي للتكنولوجيا- زيوريخ، قاعة اللوفر- باريس، والمركز الكندي للهندسة المعمارية- مونتريَال. وشارك أيضًا كمستشار في اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغرب آسيا التابعة للأمم المتحدة، ومعهد الأراضي الحضرية في واشنطن العاصمة. وقد أجرى مقابلات في العديد من وسائل الإعلام البارزة بما في ذلك راديو مونوكل، ناشيونال جيوغرافيك، الغارديان، بوسطن غلوب وآرك ديلي. وقد أشادت الغارديان بمدونته dubaization.com واعتبرتها واحدة من أبرز مدونات المدن في العالم.

والششتاوي حاصل على درجة الدكتوراة في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة ويسكونسن ميلووكي، ودرجة الماجستير في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة بنسلفانيا الحكومية، وبكالوريوس الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة القاهرة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الثقافة والمدينة: بشائر مجمع أبوظبي الثقافي

يُعد مجمع أبو ظبي الثقافي، الذي تم افتتاحه في موقع طالما كان قلب المدينة الاجتماعي والثقافي، فريدًا من نوعه من حيث التكامل بين الثقافة والمكان، ويمكن أن يكون نموذجًا للانبعاث الحضري.

Yasser Elsheshtawy

Former Visiting Scholar

Yasser Elsheshtawy is a former visiting scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. He is a professor of architecture and an independent scholar. His scholarship focuses on urbanization in developing societies, informal urbanism, urban history, and environment-behavior studies, with a particular focus on Middle Eastern cities. He is currently an adjunct professor at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation where he teaches a course on housing in the Arab world. He taught at United Arab Emirates University from 1997 -2017, and was appointed as curator for the UAE Pavilion at the 15th Venice Architecture Biennale in 2016. Additionally, he was a visiting professor at Université Paris Sorbonne during the fall semester of 2017.

Elsheshtawy has authored more than 70 publications, including Dubai: Behind an Urban Spectacle, a key reference on the city’s urban development (ranked number one on Amazon under the “United Arab Emirates History” category in September 2017). He also edited The Evolving Arab City: Tradition, Modernity, and Development, which received the 2010 International Planning History Society Best Book Award, and Planning Middle Eastern Cities: An Urban Kaleidoscope. Most recently, two chapters on urban development in the Arab world were published in the widely known City Planning and Urban Design Readers, which are comprised of key influential texts on urban planning and design. He is currently working on a book about the Gulf Arab city provisionally titled Temporary Cities.

Elsheshtawy has presented his research at numerous international institutions, such as INALCO Université Sorbonne Paris Cité, NYU-AD, Politecnico Milano, University of Macau, Tongji University-Shanghai, Harvard Graduate School of Design, ETH-Zurich, the Louvre Auditorium-Paris and the Canadian Center of Architecture-Montreal. He was also involved as a consultant with the United Nation’s Economic and Social Commission of Western Asia and the Urban Land Institute in Washington, DC. He has been interviewed by many notable news and media outlets including Radio Monocle, National Geographic, The Guardian, Boston Globe and ArchDaily. His blog dubaization.com has been hailed by The Guardian as one of the notable city blogs in the world.

Elsheshtawy has a PhD in architecture from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, a master’s degree in architecture from Pennsylvania State University, and a Bachelor of Architecture from Cairo University.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

The Gulf Arab States in Venice: Architecture, Representation, and the Perils of Politics

Five Arab countries are participating in the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale, including, for the first time, Lebanon and Saudi Arabia.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

No Cricket, No Play: Regulating Public Space in Gulf Cities

Richard Sennett, renowned sociologist and urbanist, in his 1970 classic “The Uses of Disorder” called for an embrace of disorder, noting that it has a positive value and needs to be increased in city life.

Publications content-type in which the post is published

Big Space/Small Space: Art and the Gulf City

Over the last few years many cities have attempted to integrate cultural developments within their overall planning strategy.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Beyond the Spectacle: An Urban Assessment of Louvre Abu Dhabi

On November 11, Louvre Abu Dhabi opened its doors to the public after a long and arduous construction process that survived an economic crisis, a financial downturn, post-Arab Spring turmoil, and all sorts of technical delays.