د. لمياء الحاج

د. لمياء الحاج هي عضو مجلس إدارة معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. هي أستاذة مساعدة في جامعة السلطان قابوس، وتحمل درجة الدكتوراه في البيولوجيا الجزيئية والهيكلية من جامعة كوليدج لندن، وحصلت على درجة الماجستير في العلوم البيئية والتكنولوجيا من جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز. الحاج هي باحثة في بدائل الديزل الحيوي للنفط، ومتحدثة في منتديات تي ديكس (TEDx)، ومؤسسة منصة “جلسات مُلهمون”، التي تعرض نماذج يحتذى بها لإلهام وتشجيع الأجيال الشابة.

الحاج هي إحدى رائدات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة ورياضيات النظام البيئي في المنطقة. ألقت العديد من الخطب في مؤتمرات وجمعيات مختلفة، فضلاً عن الفاعليات السنوية للشركات، بما في ذلك مؤتمرات خريجي هارفارد وIMD الشرق الأوسط حول القيادة. تم اختيار الحاج كقاضٍ لمسابقة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا “مبتكرون تحت سن 35″، والتي نظمتها مجلة إم آي تي تكنولوجي ريفيو (MIT Technology Review). كما قدمت نتائج أبحاثها في مؤتمرات مختلفة حول العالم. قامت الحاج بتأسيس منصة  Coach4Change، حيث تعمل مع كبار المسؤولين الحكوميين والمديرين التنفيذيين وقادة الأعمال ومجالس الإدارة في جميع أنحاء عمان وتدعمهم.

حازت الحاج على العديد من الجوائز، بما في ذلك جائزة بوبان ماركوفيتش (Boban Marcovic) في العلوم البيئية، وجائزة (Gulf Intelligence and Occidental Oman Award)، والجائزة الوطنية للبحوث، وجائزة المرأة العمانية لعام 2019، وجائزة (L’Oréal UNESCO Award) المرموقة للمرأة في العلوم-جائزة زمالة الشرق الأوسط 2018. وهي أيضاً زميلة في الأكاديمية العالمية للعلوم، وتم اختيارها من قبل المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي كقائدة عالمية شابة في عام 2020.

Lamya Al Haj, PhD

Lamya Al Haj is a member of the board of directors of the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. She is an associate professor at Sultan Qaboos University and holds a PhD in structural and molecular biology from University College London with an MSc in environmental science and technology from the University of New South Wales. Al Haj is a researcher in biodiesel alternatives to oil, a TEDx motivational speaker, and the founder of the speaker platform “Jalasat Mulhimoon” to showcase role models to inspire younger generations.

Al Haj is one of the leading women in the science, technology, engineering, and math ecosystem in the region. She has delivered numerous addresses and speeches at conferences and associations, as well as annual corporate events including Harvard and IMD Middle East alumni conferences on leadership. Al Haj was selected as a judge for a Massachusetts Institute of Technology-based competition, “Innovators under 35,” organized by MIT Technology Review. She has also presented her research findings at conferences around the world. Al Haj is the founder of Coach4Change where she works with and supports senior government officials, executives, business leaders, and boards around Oman.

Al Haj has received numerous awards including the Boban Marcovic Prize in environmental science, the Gulf Intelligence and Occidental Oman Award, the National Research Award, the Oman Woman of the Year Award 2019, and the prestigious “L’Oréal UNESCO Award for Women in Science – Middle East Fellowship Award 2018.” She is also a fellow with the World Academy of Science and was selected by the World Economic Forum as a Young Global Leader in 2020.