محمد اليوسف

باحث مشارك

محمد اليوسف هو باحث مشارك في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، يبحث اليوسف في السياسة والمجتمع الثقافة في دول الخليج العربية. ويركز، في الوقت الحالي، على النزاعات في الشرق الأوسط، خاصة دور الدين والهوية والمجتمع المدني والسياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة. يحمل اليوسف درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات، وشهادة في الدراسات العربية من جامعة جورج تاون، ودرجة البكالوريوس في الأمن الدولي وسياسة الولايات المتحدة من جامعة ولاية سان دييجو. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يحمل اليوسف شهادة في حل النزاعات من جامعة تبليسي في جورجيا، حيث كان يدرس النزاعات والسياسة في القوقاز.

عمل اليوسف كمساعد في تدريس مادة العلاقات الدولية في قسم الحكومة بجامعة جورج تاون عام 2018. أثناء وجوده في جورج تاون، شغل منصب عضو مجلس الاتحاد الوطني لطلبة الكويت، حيث كان يمثل 16000 طالب/ة كويتي أمام حكومة الولايات المتحدة والسفارة الكويتية في واشنطن العاصمة. في عام 2016، عمل اليوسف محررًا ومترجمًا مع وكالة الأنباء الكويتية.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

كيف تكيّف الخليجيون مع شهر رمضان وسط تفشي الكورونا؟

استقبلت دول الخليج الشهر الفضيل في ظل إجراءات احترازية صارمة وغير مسبوقة للحد من انتشار فيروس كورونا. على الرغم من محاولة تخفيف القيود في معظم دول الخليج في شهر رمضان، إلا أن حالات الإصابة بالفيروس لاتزال في تزايد. قد نشهد امتداداً لهذه "الطبيعة" الاجتماعية الجديدة إلى عيد الفطر وما بعده.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

علي الكلثمي: تطورات السينما السعودية بين تحديات الماضي وآمال المستقبل

جاء صناع الأفلام السعوديون متأخرين إلى عالم الأفلام، متعثرين بسبب عدم إيجاد الفرص المناسبة والعقبات التي يفرضها النظام الاجتماعي السياسي المحافظ في المملكة. يُنظر هذه الأيام إلى صانعي الأفلام على أنهم لاعبون أساسيون في التحول الاجتماعي -من الأعلى إلى الأسفل - في المجتمع السعودي.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الشباب الخليجي والمجتمع المدني في الصفوف الأمامية لمكافحة فيروس كورونا

في حين أن معظم دول الخليج لجأت إلى مؤسساتها الحكومية لمكافحة فيروس كورونا، فقد كان للشباب في الكويت والبحرين دوراً أكثر فعالية من خلال منظمات المجتمع المدني شبه المستقلة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الاتحاد الوطني لطلبة الكويت: هل هو وسيلة لتعزيز الفاعلية السياسية والمشاركة المدنية؟

مدار العقود الماضية، لعبت الاتحادات الطلابية والأندية دورًا مهماً في حياة الطلاب الخليجيين، سواء في الجامعات المحلية أو خارجها. لدى معظم دول الخليج العربية شكل من أشكال التنظيم الطلابي، توارثوها من الرعيل الأول من طلاب دول الخليج العربي المبتعثين في الأربعينيات والخمسينيات من القرن الماضي، الذين تأثروا بحقبة القومية والتضامن العربي

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

المجالس الثقافية الخليجية في الولايات المتحدة

يلعب المجلس الثقافي دورًا مهمًا في الدبلوماسية الثقافية كوسيلة لتعريف الغرب بالثقافات والتقاليد العربية والخليجية في نهج بعيد عن السياسة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

سعادة سارة فلكناز: خدمة الدولة عن طريق المجلس الوطني الاتحادي

تحدث معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن مع سارة فلكناز عن رؤاها وتطلعاتها للمجلس الوطني الاتحادي السابع عشر

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

محمد الحصينان: توظيف وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في الأعمال الخيرية

يقود محمد الحصينان فريقا يعمل على تعريف جيل الشباب الجديد على إرث الكويت الإنساني طويل الأمد بطريقة مبتكرة باستخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والروابط الشخصية وخطاب ملهم ومبدع

Mohammad J. Al Yousef

Research Associate

Mohammad J. Al Yousef is a research associate at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington, researching Gulf politics, society, and culture. He currently concentrates on Middle East conflicts, with special emphasis on the role of religion, identity, civil society, and U.S. foreign policy in the region. Al Yousef holds an MA in conflict resolution and a certificate in Arab studies from Georgetown University and a BA in international security and U.S. politics from San Diego State University. In addition, he holds a certificate in conflict resolution from Tbilisi State University (Georgia), studying the conflicts and politics of the Caucasus.

Al Yousef served as a teaching assistant for international relations courses in the Department of Government at Georgetown University in 2018. While at Georgetown, he served as a board member of the National Union of Kuwaiti Students, wherein he represented 16,000 Kuwaiti students to the U.S. government and to the Embassy of Kuwait in Washington, DC. In 2016, Al Yousef worked with Kuwait News Agency as an editor and translator.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Mental Health in the Gulf: Reforms and Challenges

While youth-led awareness campaigns and public health education are shifting the landscape of mental health care in the Gulf, sociocultural challenges persist.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Ramadan Series Have Provoked an Internal Gulf Debate on Social Normalization With Israel

Public opposition to social and political normalization with Israel appears to be holding fast among most nationals, even as some governments allow more room for advocates of Gulf-Israel relations to make their case.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Ramadan Adapts to the Pandemic in the Gulf

Gulf countries have celebrated the arrival of the holy month of Ramadan under unprecedented and strict precautionary measures to mitigate the spread of the coronavirus. Yet Gulf citizens are still finding ways to pray communally and sustain community.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Creating Saudi Arabia’s “Visual Majlis”: Ali al-Kalthami on Telfaz11 and the Future of Saudi Film

Saudi filmmakers came late to the craft, limited by the lack of opportunities for training and imposed by Saudi Arabia’s conservative sociopolitical order. Today, filmmakers are viewed as avatars of the top-down transformation of Saudi society.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Gulf Youth and Civil Society Mobilize to Fight the Coronavirus

While most Gulf Arab countries have tackled the coronavirus pandemic through state-led initiatives, Kuwait and Bahrain engaged youth significantly through quasi-independent civil society organizations.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

The National Union of Kuwaiti Students: Nurturing a Commitment to Civic Engagement?

Student unions and clubs have played an important role in the lives of Gulf Arab students, both in local universities and abroad.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

A Khaleeji Majlis in the United States

With the Cultural Majlis, Sultan Sooud Al Qassemi aims to bring together the Middle East and North Africa community within U.S. campuses and establish an inclusive dialogue connecting people, ideas, and cultures.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Mohammad Al-Hussainan: Harnessing Social Media for Charity

Mohammad Al-Hussainan leads a team working to bring a new generation to Kuwait’s long-standing humanitarian legacy, using social media, personal connections, and a compelling narrative.