جورج ر. سالم

يعمل السيد جورج ر. سالم كمستشار استراتيجي لشركة “دي إل إيه بايبر”، حيث يرتكز عمله على المساعدة في تطوير ممارسات “دي إل إيه بايبر الشرق الأوسط” ووزارة العمل الأمريكية.

خلال مسيرته المهنية التي تمتد على 38 عامًا، فاوض السيد سالم من أجل بعض أهم التسويات في مجال قانون العمل. وبالنيابة عن عدة عملاء في الشرق الأوسط، ترأس السيد سالم الفرق القانونية التي تولت حيازة أصول بارزة، بما فيها مصافٍ في الشرق الأوسط وتولى قضايا بارزة في المحاكم، بما فيها قضية مصنع الشفاء للأدوية في السودان.

أُدرج سالم ضمن موسوعة “هوز هو” في أمريكا و”هوز هو” في القانون الأمريكي و”هوز هو” في السياسات الأمريكية و”هوز هو” في المالية والصناعة وموسوعة “هوز هو” الدولية الخاصة بمحامي الأعمال وموسوعة “هوز هو” الدولية الخاصة بمحامي العمل الإداري والتوظيف، وشامبرز الولايات المتحدة: محامو الأعمال الرواد في أمريكا، ومحامو واشنطن المتفوقون والمحامون المتفوقون لمجالس الشركات وأفضل المحامين في أمريكا. وقد اختير من بين أفضل 26 محامي عمل في الولايات المتحدة من قبل المجلة الوطنية للقانون. وبين الأعوام 1985 و1989، شغل منصب محامي العمل، أي كبير المستشارين القانونيين، في وزارة العمل الأمريكية، حيث ترأس طاقم عمل مؤلفًا من 850 محامٍ في 13 مكتبًا وطنيًا و16 مكتبًا إقليميًا ودون إقليمي في كافة أنحاء البلاد. وهو أول أمريكي عربي فلسطيني تم تعيينه من قبل رئيس وتأييده من قبل مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي.

ولعب سالم أدوارًا أساسية في حملات الرؤساء رونالد ريغان وجورج بوش وجورج بوش الابن. وهو يترأس المعهدالعربي الأمريكي، الذي شارك في تأسيسه عام 1985، وكان الرئيس السابق للرابطة الوطنية للأمريكيين العرب وعضوًا في مجلس إدارة لجنة مكافحة التمييز الأمريكية العربية وعضوًا في مجلس أمناء مؤسسة النداء الفلسطيني الموحد منذ عام 1982، وهو اليوم أمين صندوق هذه المؤسسة.

كما عمل سالم ضمن المجموعة الاستشارية الأمريكية حول الديبلوماسية العامة في العالم العربي والمسلم، وتلقى عام 1992 وسام الشرف إليس آيلاند، الذي يُمنح سنويًا لأمريكيين من أصول متنوعة لقاء مساهماتهم الهائلة لمصلحة مجموعاتهم العرقية والمجتمع الأمريكي.

George R. Salem

George R. Salem serves as strategic advisor with DLA Piper, where he is focused on assisting in the development of DLA Piper’s Middle East and U.S. Department of Labor practices.

During the course of his 38-year career, Salem has negotiated some of the most significant settlements in the field of labor law. On behalf of various Middle East clients, Salem headed the legal teams that handled the acquisitions of major assets, including refineries in the Middle East, and has litigated major cases, including the Al-Shifa pharmaceutical plant in Sudan.

Salem is listed in Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in American Law, Who’s Who in American Politics, Who’s Who in Finance and Industry, The International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers, The International Who’s Who of Management Labour and Employment Lawyers, Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business, Washington Super Lawyers and Corporate Counsel Super Lawyers, and The Best Lawyers in America. He was named by The National Law Journal as one of the top 26 labor lawyers in the United States. From 1985-89 he served as solicitor of labor, the U.S. Department of Labor’s chief legal officer, where he headed a staff of 850 lawyers in 13 national offices and 16 regional and subregional offices around the country. He is the first Palestinian Arab American to have been nominated by a president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

Salem played key roles in the campaigns of Presidents Ronald Reagan, George Bush, and George W. Bush. He chairs the Arab American Institute, which he co-founded in 1985, is past chairman of the National Association of Arab Americans, and has served on the board of the ADC. He has been on the board of trustees of United Palestinian Appeal, Inc. since 1982, and serves as treasurer of UPA.

Salem has served on the U.S. Advisory Group on Public Diplomacy in the Arab and Muslim World, and in 1992 received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor, presented annually to Americans of diverse origins for outstanding contributions to their own ethnic groups and to American society.