بدر موسى السيف

كاتب

بدر موسى السيف هو أستاذ مساعد في التاريخ في جامعة الكويت وزميل غير مقيم في مركز مالكوم كير– كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط في بيروت. تتركّز أبحاثه على دول الخليج وشبه الجزيرة العربية، تحديدًا التاريخ الحديث والشؤون المعاصرة للشرق الأوسط، على غرار التاريخ السياسي والفكري، والفكر الإسلامي، وديناميكيات الإصلاح، والاتجاهات العابرة للأوطان، والدراسات الجندرية. لدى السيف العديد من المنشورات، منها “مسلم وماركسي: الحداثة الإسلامية لدى علي شريعتي في كتاب “دين ضد الدين”” (Musulman-e Marksisti:The Islamic Modernism of Ali Shariati in Religion vs. Religion) (2017). وساهم في تأليف فصل “التعليم العالي والاعتراضات عليه في الكويت بعد الربيع العربي: بنية الهوية وإيديولوجيا الهيمنة في الجامعة الأميركية في الكويت” (Higher Education and Contestation in the State of Kuwait After the Arab Spring: Identity Construction and Ideologies of Domination in the American University of Kuwait) (2016)؛ و “لا فلول ولا إخوان: عبد الرحمن يوسف وبروز تيار بديل في مصر بعد حكم مرسي” (Neither Fulul nor Ikhwan: Abdulrahman Yusuf and the Rise of an Alternative Current in Post-Morsi Egypt) (2015).

شغل السيف مناصب رفيعة في كل من القطاعين العام والخاص في الكويت. كما أنه الرئيس المؤسس لشركة السيف للاستشارات، المتخصصة في أبحاث السياسات العامة والتعليم، وتمكين المرأة والشباب، والتعايش بين الأديان في الشرق الأوسط.

حصل السيف على درجة الدكتوراه بامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف من جامعة جورجتاون، وهو حائز على ماجستير في التربية والتعليم، وماجستير في الدراسات اللاهوتية مع مرتبة الشرف من جامعة هارفارد، وماجستير في القانون مع مرتبة الشرف من كلية الدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية في جامعة لندن. كما أنه تخرّج بامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف من كلية بوسطن مع تخصص مزدوج في العلوم السياسية والتاريخ.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

حكومة في الكويت: تشكيلة جديدة بمعايير قديمة

إن اللجوء إلى نفس الطبقة السياسية واعتماد النهج القديم ذاته في اختيار الوزراء يشيران إلى أن الحكومة الكويتية الجديدة، كسابقاتها، لا تبدو قادرة على المعالجة الفعالة للتحديات الملحّة التي تواجه البلاد.

Bader Al-Saif

Contributor

Bader Al-Saif is an assistant professor of history at Kuwait University and a non-resident fellow at the Malcolm H. Kerr Carnegie Middle East Center. Al-Saif focuses on the modern history and contemporary affairs of the Middle East, namely political and intellectual history, Islamic thought, reform dynamics, transnational trends, and gender studies. Al-Saif is the author of numerous publications, including Musulman-e Marksisti: The Islamic Modernism of Ali Shariati in Religion vs. Religion (2017); co-author of Higher Education and Contestation in the State of Kuwait After the Arab Spring: Identity Construction and Ideologies of Domination in the American University of Kuwait (2016); and “Neither Fulul nor Ikhwan: Abdulrahman Yusuf and the Rise of an Alternative Current in Post-Morsi Egypt” (2015). He is the founding president of Al-Saif Consulting, specializing in public policy research, education, women and youth empowerment, and interreligious dialogue in the Middle East. He has held senior roles in both the private and public sectors in Kuwait.

Al-Saif holds a PhD with distinction from Georgetown University, a master of education and a master of theology, both with honors from Harvard University, and a master of law with honors from the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Al-Saif graduated summa cum laude from Boston College with a double major in political science and history.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Old Playbook for New Kuwaiti Government Signals Further Stasis

An addictive recourse to the same political class and governance scheme suggests Kuwait’s new government, like its predecessors, will prove unable to effectively confront the country’s many challenges.