ديفيد دي روش

زميل غير مقيم

ديفيد  دي روش  هو زميل غير مقيم في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، وزميل بارز في الشؤون الدولية في المجلس الوطني للعلاقات العربية الأمريكية. وهو أستاذ مشارك في مركز الشرق الأدنى وجنوب آسيا للدراسات الإستراتيجية (NESA) بجامعة الدفاع الوطني، حيث تخصص في بلدان شبه الجزيرة العربية، والأمن الإقليمي لمجلس التعاون الخليجي، وأمن الحدود، ونقل الأسلحة، والدفاع الصاروخي، ومكافحة التمرد، والإرهاب، والَّنزْعات الناشئة.

التحق دي روش بمركز الشرق الأدنى وجنوب آسيا للدراسات الإستراتيجية NESA بعد أن تقلد عدة مناصب في مكتب وزير الدفاع للأمور السياسية، من ضمنها مدير الخليج وشبه الجزيرة العربية، ومدير قسم الاتصالات بين وزارة الدفاع ووزارة الأمن الداخلي، والمدير القطري الأول لباكستان، ومدير عمليات حلف الناتو، ونائب مدير قوات حفظ السلام والناطق باسم وكالة التعاون الأمني الدفاعي. وقبل ذلك، عمل في مكتب البيت الأبيض للسياسة الوطنية لمراقبة المخدرات كمحلل دولي لفرض القانون ومساعد خاص في الأمور الإستراتيجية.

تقاعد دي روش برتبة عقيد بعد خدمة ثلاثين عامًا في الجيش النظامي والاحتياط، وعمل في هيئة الأركان المشتركة، وفي قيادة العمليات الخاصة الأمريكية، كما خدم في وحدات قوات العمليات الخاصة والتقليدية المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأوروبا وأفغانستان. وهو معلق منتظم حول الشؤون الإقليمية ومؤلف للعديد من المقالات حول أمن الخليج. فهو  محرر تجارة السلاح، الخدمات العسكرية وسوق الأمن في الخليج: توجهات وتداعيات (برلين: غارلاش، 2016) وهو محرر موضوع قضية أمنية خاصة لمجلة أكسفورد لدراسات الخليج ربيع عام 2016. يحمل درجات عليا من جامعة لندن للدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية، وكلية كينجز لندن التي التحق بها كمارشال باحث. ويحمل دي روش أيضًا درجة عليا من كلية الجيش والحرب الأمريكية ويحمل البكالوريوس في العلوم من الأكاديمية العسكرية الأمريكية، ويست بوينت.

منشورات content-type in which the post is published

بين الهيمنة والزعزعة: انعدام التكافؤ في الأمن الخليجي

يعالج هذا البحث الخصائص التي تميّز الأعمال العدوانية غير المتكافئة، ولا سيما اختلال التوازن الذي ينجم عن اختلاف الأهداف الأمنية بين الهيمنة أو الزعزعة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

كيفية تحليل الهجمات الصاروخية على المملكة العربية السعودية

أحيى الحوثيون في اليمن الذكرى الثالثة لتدخل التحالف بقيادة السعودية في الحرب في اليمن من خلال إطلاق عدة صواريخ على المدن السعودية مثل الرياض وخميس مشيط وجيزان.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الآثار الأمنية الإقليمية لأزمة مجلس التعاون الخليجي

كانت ولا تزال دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الستة من بين أكبر مشتري الأسلحة الأمريكية منذ عقود.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الغنيمة المؤجلة: السير بخطى متعثّرة نحو الحُديدة

تعتبر الحملة التي تُشنّ على طول الساحل اليمني للبحر الأحمر صورةً مصغّرة عن المشاكل التي يواجهها التحالف الذي تقوده المملكة العربية السعودية في محاولاته لإعادة الرئيس الشرعي اليمني إلى السلطة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

حل لغز الضربات الصاروخية البحرية المتبادلة في اليمن

الصراع البحري قبالة الساحل اليمني أنذرت سلسلة الصواريخ التي أُطلقت مؤخرًا بخطر توسّع نطاق الحرب اليمنية لتصل إلى أهم ممر للملاحة في مضيق باب المندب حيث يلتقي البحر الأحمر بالمحيط الهندي.

DB Des Roches

Non-Resident Fellow

DB Des Roches is a non-resident fellow at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington and a senior international affairs fellow at the National Council on U.S.-Arab Relations. He is an associate professor at the Near East South Asia Center for Strategic Studies at the National Defense University, where he specializes in countries of the Arabian Peninsula, Gulf Cooperation Council regional security, border security, weapons transfers, missile defense, counterinsurgency, terrorism, and emerging trends.

He joined NESA in 2011 after serving the Office of the Secretary of Defense for Policy in numerous positions, including as director of the Gulf and Arabian Peninsula, the Department of Defense liaison to the Department of Homeland Security, the senior country director for Pakistan, the NATO operations director, the deputy director for peacekeeping, and the spokesman for the Defense Security Cooperation Agency. Prior to that, he served in the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy as an international law enforcement analyst and special assistant for strategy.

Des Roches retired as a colonel from a 30-year career in the active and reserve Army, serving on the Joint Staff, U.S. Special Operations Command staff, and in conventional and special operations troop units deployed throughout the Middle East, Europe, and Afghanistan. He is a regular commentator on regional affairs and author of numerous articles on Gulf security. He is the editor of The Arms Trade, Military Services and the Security Market in the Gulf: Trends and Implications (Berlin: Gerlach, 2016) and the theme editor of the Oxford Journal of Gulf Studies Spring 2016 special issue on security. He holds advanced degrees from the University of London School of Oriental and African Studies and Kings College London, which he attended as a British Marshall Scholar. Des Roches also holds an advanced degree from the U.S. Army War College, and a Bachelor of Science from the United States Military Academy, West Point.

Publications content-type in which the post is published

Dominance versus Disruption: Asymmetry in Gulf Security

This paper examines the defining characteristics of asymmetrical hostilities, in particular, the imbalance created when different security objectives – dominance or disruption – come into play.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

IDEX 2019 Highlights Gulf States' Move to Develop Domestic Defense Industries

IDEX 2019 demonstrated that both the Emiratis and Saudis are serious about developing domestic defense industries and enlisting global defense firms as partners in this effort.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

How to Analyze the Missile Attacks on Saudi Arabia

Yemen’s Houthis marked the third anniversary of the Saudi-led coalition’s intervention in the war in Yemen by launching multiple missiles at the Saudi cities of Riyadh, Khamis Mushait, and Jizan.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

The Prize Deferred: Stumbling toward Hodeidah

The campaign along the Red Sea coast of Yemen is a miniature version of the problems facing the Saudi-led coalition seeking to reinstate the legitimate president of Yemen to power.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Making Sense of the Naval Missile Exchanges in Yemen

The Naval Conflict Off Yemen’s Coast A recent series of missile launches have threatened to expand the Yemen war into the key shipping choke point of the Bab el-Mandeb, where the Red Sea meets the Indian Ocean.