جينيف عبده

باحثة زائرة

جينيف عبده هي باحثة زائرة في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن ومستشارة في البنك الدولي. مؤخراً، كانت باحثة زائرة في مركز بروكنجز الدوحة. يركز بحثها الحالي على التحالفات السياسية والدينية المتغيرة داخل المجتمعات الشيعية في الشرق الأوسط.

عملت عبده في العديد من المراكز البحثية في واشنطن العاصمة، بما في ذلك المجلس الأطلنطي ي ومركز ستيمسون، وكانت باحثة غير مقيمة في معهد بروكينجز من (2013-2017)، ومحاضرة في كلية إليوت للشؤون الدولية بجامعة جورج واشنطن (2016-2019).

من بين أعمالها الرئيسية المنشورة، دراسات وأبحاث في المجلات العلمية. ألفت عبده أربعة كتب عن الشرق الأوسط، منها “الطائفية الجديدة: الانتفاضات العربية وانبعاث الانقسام الشيعي السني” الذي نشرته دار نشر جامعة أكسفورد في عام 2016. تشمل كتبها الأخرى، التي نشرتها دار نشر جامعة أكسفورد أيضاً، دراسة رائدة عن صعود الإخوان المسلمين إلى السلطة في مصر.

حصلت عبده على العديد من الجوائز عن أعمالها البحثية، مثل زمالة جون سيمون جوجنهايم المرموقة. كما حصلت على زمالة نيمان للدراسة في جامعة هارفارد.

كانت عبده سابقاً مسئولة الاتصال في مبادرة تحالف الحضارات، وهي مبادرة للأمم المتحدة أنشأها الأمين العام السابق كوفي عنان، وكانت تهدف إلى تحسين العلاقات بين المجتمعات الإسلامية والغربية. قبل انضمامها إلى الأمم المتحدة، كانت عبده مراسلة صحفية خارجية، حيث ركزت حياتها المهنية، التي استمرت 20 عاماً، على تغطية الشرق الأوسط والعالم الإسلامي. في الفترة (1998-2001)، كانت عبده مراسلة لصحيفة الجارديان في إيران، وكانت تكتب بانتظام في صحف الايكونمست والهيرالد تريبيون الدولية. كانت عبده أول صحفية أمريكية تقيم في إيران منذ الثورة الإسلامية عام 1979.

ظهرت آلاف المقالات والتعليقات الخاصة بها حول الإسلام والشرق الأوسط في النيويورك تايمز والنيوزويك والفورين أفيرز ومجلة فورين بوليسي والواشنطن بوست ووسائط أخرى. عبده متحدثة، بشكل متكرر، في الجامعات ومراكز الأبحاث والمؤسسات الدولية في الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا والشرق الأوسط.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

مقاطعة الصدر للانتخابات تهدد موعدها

أدى إعلان مقتدى الصدر عن مقاطعته الانتخابات البرلمانية القادمة إلى وضع العملية الانتخابية في حالة من الفوضى في وقت يعتمد فيه استقرار العراق المستقبلي على انتخابات شرعيّة وشفافة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الكاظمي يتغلب على الميليشيات، على الأقل حتى الآن

يشير قيام رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي باعتقال أحد قادة الميليشيات الأقوياء واحتجازه إلى تغييرات هامة في العراق في الوقت الذي تستعد فيه البلاد لانتخابات برلمانية.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

رجال الدين يدعمون الاصلاح ويحافظون على خيط رفيع بين السياسة والدين في العراق

ستكون نتيجة الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة بمثابة اختبار لتأثير رجال الدين في العراق ولمدى التحكم الذي يمكن للمتظاهرين أن يمارسوه على السياسة العراقية.

Geneive Abdo

Visiting Fellow

Geneive Abdo is a visiting fellow at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington and a consultant at the World Bank. She was most recently a visiting fellow at the Brookings Doha Center. Her current research focuses on the shifting political and religious alliances within Shia communities in the Middle East.

She has worked at several Washington-based think tanks, including the Atlantic Council and the Stimson Center. She was a non-resident scholar at the Brookings Institution from 2013-17. She was also a lecturer at the Elliott School of International Affairs at the George Washington University from 2016-19.

Among her vast publications, including monographs and works in scholarly journals, Abdo is the author of four books on the Middle East, including The New Sectarianism: The Arab Uprisings and the Rebirth of the Shi’a-Sunni Divide (Oxford University Press, 2016). Her other books, also published by Oxford, include a groundbreaking study of the Muslim Brotherhood’s rise to power in Egypt.

She has received many awards for her scholarship, including the prestigious John Simon Guggenheim fellowship. Abdo also was the recipient of the Nieman Fellowship for study at Harvard University.

She was formerly the liaison officer for the Alliance of Civilizations, a United Nations initiative established by former Secretary-General Kofi Annan, which aimed to improve relations between Islamic and Western societies. Before joining the U.N., Abdo was a foreign correspondent, where her 20-year career focused on coverage of the Middle East and the Muslim world. From 1998 to 2001, Abdo was the Iran correspondent for The Guardian and a regular contributor to The Economist and the International Herald Tribune. She was the first American journalist to be based in Iran since the 1979 Islamic Revolution.

Her thousands of articles and commentaries on Islam and the Middle East have appeared in The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy Magazine, The Washington Post, and other publications. She is a frequent speaker at universities, think tanks, and international institutions in the United States, Europe, and the Middle East.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Iraq Protest Movement Defies Odds, Outperforms in Elections

Results from Iraq’s elections show that a determined young generation can organize and win seats, no matter the obstacles placed in the way by a political system most Iraqis lost faith in long ago. 

Videos content-type in which the post is published

Low Turnout, But Glimmer of Hope in Iraq's Elections

AGSIW's Geneive Abdo spoke with Akeel Abbas, an expert on Iraqi politics and sectarian identities, to discuss the results of Iraq's October 10 parliamentary elections.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Sadr’s Boycott Threat Puts Election Timeframe in Question

Muqtada al-Sadr’s announcement that he will boycott upcoming parliamentary elections has thrown the electoral process into disarray at a time when the future stability of Iraq depends on legitimate and transparent elections.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Kadhimi Triumphs Over the Militias, At Least for Now

Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi’s arrest and detention of a powerful militia commander signals significant changes in Iraq as the country prepares for parliamentary elections.

Publications content-type in which the post is published

The Long Game in Iraq: Shia Clerics, Activists Find Common Cause To Confront the State

A new generation of Iraqis fighting for a reimagining of their country have formed an informal alliance with Iraqi clerics – a radical departure from the trend in most Arab states.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Clerics Support Protesters’ Call for Reforms, Walk Fine Line in Iraqi Politics

The outcome of the upcoming parliamentary elections will be a test of clerical influence in Iraq and of the hold that protesters can continue to exert over Iraqi politics.