روبرت موجيلنيكي

باحث مقيم

روبرت موجيلنيكي هو باحث مقيم في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، وهو خبير في الاقتصاد السياسي لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. عمل موجيلنيكي كبير محللين في مجموعة سيوة (Siwa Group)، ومدير العلاقات العامة والتسويق في شركة أكسفورد للاستشارات الاستراتيجية (Oxford Strategic Consulting)، وهى عبارة عن مجموعة بحثية استشارية تركز على مجالات التعاون بين مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية والمملكة المتحدة. قبل عمله الاستشاري، عمل موجيلنيكي كصحفي يغطي التطورات الاقتصادية والسياسية في فترة ما بعد ثورات 2011 في مصر وتونس.

كتابه “الاقتصاد السياسي للمناطق الحرة في دول الخليج العربية” نشرته دار نشر بالجراف ماكميلان في أبريل/ نيسان ضمن سلسلتها حول الاقتصاد السياسي الدولي. ألف موجيلنيكي العديد من فصول الكتب حول السياسة والاقتصاد في دول الخليج العربية. نُشرت تحليلات وتعليقات موجيلنيكي في العديد من المواقع والصحف البارزة، مثل مجلة السياسة الخارجية وموقع بلومبيرج وفوربس ورويترز والفيناشال تايمز والواشنطن بوست ولوس انجلوس تايمز وفوكس وأكسيوس، وغيرها من الصحف والمواقع البارزة.

حصل موجيلنيكي على درجة الدكتوراة من كلية ماجدلين (Magdalen College) بجامعة أوكسفورد، حيث قام بعمل بحثه بالتعاون مع معهد الدراسات الشرقية. استناداً على بحث ميداني مكثّف في الإمارات العربية المتّحدة وعمان وقطر والبحرين والكويت، تتناولت أطروحة موجيلنيكي الاقتصاد السياسي للمناطق الحرة في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية. حاز موجيلنيكي على درجة الماجستير في الدراسات الشرق أوسطية الحديثة من كلية سانت أنتوني (St Antony’s College) بجامعة أكسفورد، حيث كتب رسالة الماجستير عن عملية صياغة وتنفيذ سياسة العمل في إماراتي أبو ظبي ودبي. وحاز على درجة البكالوريوس من جامعة جورجتاون في تخصُّصي اللغة العربية والحكومة، وتخرّج بامتياز، وكان عضوًا في جمعية فاي بيتا كابا (Phi Beta Kappa).

يتخصص موجيلنيكي في التقاطع ما بين السياسة والاقتصاد في دول الخليج العربية، حيث يركز على كيفية تفاعل الدول الجيواستراتيجية مع عملية التحول الاقتصادي من خلال سياسات التجارة والاستثمار والتدخل في سوق العمل والتنويع الاقتصادي والابتكار التكنولوجي.

يتحدث موجيلنيكي اللغة العربية الفصحى واللّهجة المصرية، ولديه معرفة عملية باللهجة التونسية. وقد حصل في السابق على منحة السلطان قابوس لتعليم اللغة العربية للناطقين بغيرها (2007-2011). كما حصل على منحة (Critical Language) في تونس عام 2011. عاش موجيلنيكي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر وتونس والمغرب وتركيا والقدس.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الاستراتيجية الاقتصادية السعودية: التحول من النهج المتعدد الأهداف إلى تعزيز دورة النمو؟

كانت وتيرة ونطاق مبادرات التنمية الاقتصادية وسياساتها التي تم الإعلان عنها خلال السنوات الخمس الأولى من رؤية السعودية 2030 مدهشة، لكن أي تقدم في نهاية المطاف من المرجح أن يكون إما واسعًا وتراكميًا أو ضيقًا وعميقًا.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الإمارات تسعى لاستقطاب الوافدين الموهوبين والإبقاء عليهم

أصدر المسؤولون الإماراتيون مجموعة من السياسات والمبادرات التي تهدف إلى استقطاب الوافدين من ذوي المهارات العالية، ولكن من المرجح أن يؤدي تداخل المبادرات إلى زيادة المنافسة الإقليمية على المواهب الأجنبية.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

الميزانيات المالية لعام 2021 تشير إلى أوقات اقتصادية صعبة قادمة

بصورة كبيرة، ميزانيات صغيرة وأسعار نفط متحفظة توضح بداية سنة اقتصادية صعبة في إقليم الخليج.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

المصالحة الخليجية تحقق مكاسب اقتصادية غير متكافئة

سوف تكون المكاسب الاقتصادية المرتبطة بالمصالحة الخليجية ضيقة ومحدودة، وينبغي تسخير أي زخم اقتصادي للتعامل مع التحديات التي تواجه المنطقة على المدى البعيد.

منشورات content-type in which the post is published

البيانات السيادية: تطوير وتسويق المجال الرقمي للبحرين

لا تستطيع دول الخليج العربية، مثل البحرين، الحفاظ على الشكل التقليدي لاقتصاداتها إلى أجل غير مسمى، لكن يمكنها التأثير على الكيفية التي سيتحدد بها مستقبلها الرقمي الجديد.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

قمة مجموعة العشرين تشير إلى بداية عقد من التحديات أمام التحول الاقتصادي السعودي

يواجه أصحاب القرار السعوديون معضلة في كيفية تحقيق الأهداف الطموحة لرؤية 2030 بالقليل من الموارد المالية والمزيد من الريبة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

ازدهار العلاقات الاقتصادية الإماراتية-الإسرائيلية في أعقاب التطبيع

تسير العلاقات الاقتصادية بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإسرائيل بشكل سريع في مختلف الاتجاهات، ولكن العمل الجاد ما يزال في طور القدوم.

منشورات content-type in which the post is published

هل هذا الوقت مختلفاً؟ السياسة الاقتصادية لدول الخليج في مواجهة أزمات 2020

في الوقت الذي يستمر فيه صناع السياسة في دول الخليج العربية في مواجهة مستقبل مبهم، فإنهم سيعتمدون بصورة كبيرة على الإجراءات الاقتصادية المعتادة، وتجنب الابتعاد عن الوضع القائم لأطول فترة ممكنة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

حكاية بوتيكات: موازنة الابتكار وحوكمة الشركات

إن تنفيذ الأطر الأقوى في حوكمة الشركات التي تنطبق على الشركات الإقليمية الناشئة يعدّ نقطة انطلاق جيدة لزيادة ثقة المستثمرين في ظل مناخ اقتصادي صعب.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

العلاقات الاقتصادية العُمانية-الصينية

إن اعتماد عُمان المتزايد على صادرات الطاقة إلى الصين، وقلة الاستثمارات الصينية في القطاعات غير النفطية من الاقتصاد العُماني يضعفان من وضع السلطنة في مواجهة التحديات الاقتصادية الملحة.

Robert Mogielnicki

Resident Scholar

Robert Mogielnicki is a resident scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. An expert in the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa, he previously served as a senior analyst with the Siwa Group and head of public relations and marketing for Oxford Strategic Consulting, a United Kingdom/Gulf Cooperation Council-focused research consultancy. Prior to his consulting career, he worked as a journalist covering political and economic developments in post-revolutionary Egypt and Tunisia. His work and commentary on the region have appeared in Axios, Forbes Middle East, Al Jazeera’s Inside Story, MEED, Al Bawaba, The National (UAE), Gulf Daily News, Tunisia Live, Egypt Oil and Gas Magazine, and Egypt Daily News.

Mogielnicki received his PhD from the University of Oxford’s Magdalen College, where he conducted research in conjunction with the Oriental Institute and Middle East Centre. Drawing on extensive fieldwork in the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, and Kuwait, his dissertation examines the political economy of free zones in Gulf Arab countries. He earned his MA in modern Middle Eastern studies from St Antony’s College, University of Oxford, and completed a master’s thesis on labor policy formulation and implementation in the emirates of Abu Dhabi and Dubai. He received his BA from Georgetown University as a double major in Arabic and government, graduating magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa.

Mogielnicki specializes in the intersection of politics and economics across Gulf Arab states. He is particularly interested in how these geostrategic states engage in processes of economic transformation through trade and investment policies, labor market interventions, economic diversification, and technological innovation.

Mogielnicki speaks Modern Standard Arabic and the Egyptian dialect, and possesses a working knowledge of the Tunisian dialect. He is a former recipient of the Sultan Qaboos Arabic Language Scholarship (2007-11) and served as a Critical Language Scholar in Tunisia in 2011. Mogielnicki has lived in the UAE, Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco, Turkey, and Jerusalem.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

As Personnel Shuffle, the PIF Marches Steadily to Saudi Vision 2030 Beat

The reshuffling of top officials in Saudi Arabia’s flagship state-owned firms and key ministries underscores the growing authority of the Public Investment Fund.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Bahrain and Abu Dhabi Compete to be Gulf’s Cryptocurrency Hub

The heightened interest in cryptocurrencies across the Gulf is taking place alongside global efforts to both regulate digital assets and attract cryptocurrency firms.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Diversified Investment in UAE Shaping China’s Economic Role in the Gulf

Despite a large appetite among Gulf Arab states for Chinese investment and trade, the UAE has emerged as China’s primary economic partner in the region.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Fiscal and Security Pressures Highlight, and Threaten, Oman’s Unique Position in the Region

As fiscal constraints increase, tensions in the Gulf rise, and uncertainties surrounding political transition loom, Oman’s role in the Gulf Arab region could come under pressure.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

The Political Ramifications of the Gulf’s Digital Transformation

Gulf Arab states are striving to become tech-driven, knowledge economies, but the digital path ahead is bound to be bumpy.

Publications content-type in which the post is published

New Opportunities and High Stakes for Gulf-South Asia Relations

The strategic implications of interregional engagement between the Gulf and South Asia are becoming clearer and more pronounced.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Saudi Arabia Takes Steps to Assure Foreign Investors

The economic components of Saudi Arabia’s ambitious transformation, in which local and foreign investments play a pivotal role, ultimately hinge on the government’s ability to improve the transparency of commercial processes.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Year-on-Year Deficits Brewing in Gulf Economies

More spending, low growth, and recurring deficits are not a recipe for long-term economic sustainability, but this concoction may be a necessary pill for Gulf states to swallow as the hard work of economic reform sets in.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Uber’s Acquisition of Careem Strengthens the Gulf’s Tech Credentials

Uber’s acquisition of its Dubai-based rival Careem signals a promising new phase for the Gulf’s technology sector.