السفير وليام رويبوك

نائب الرئيس التنفيذي

السفير ويليام “بيل” رويبوك هو نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لمعهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. شغل روبوك مؤخراً منصب نائب المبعوث الخاص للتحالف الدولي لهزيمة تنظيم داعش، ومستشاراً أول للممثل الخاص لـ سوريا السفير جيمس جيفري. قبل تعيينه، عمل رويبوك مستشاراً أول للمبعوث الرئاسي الخاص بريت ماك جورك من يناير/كانون الثاني إلى ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2018.

عمل رويبوك سفيراً في البحرين من 2015-2017. تم تعيينه نائباً مساعداً للأمين العام لشؤون المغرب العربي في يناير/كانون الثاني 2013، وتولى بعض المهام الإضافية المتعلقة بالشؤون المصرية في يناير/كانون الثاني 2014. شغل منصب القائم بالأعمال في طرابلس (ليبيا) من يناير/ كانون الثاني إلى يونيو/حزيران 2013، وحصل على جائزة رايان كروكر للقيادة المتميزة في الدبلوماسية. من سبتمبر/أيلول 2010 إلى ديسمبر/كانون الثاني 2012، شغل منصب مدير مكتب شؤون المغرب العربي في مكتب وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية لشؤون الشرق الأدنى. شغل رويبوك منصب نائب المستشار السياسي في السفارة الأمريكية في بغداد من يوليو/تموز من 2009 إلى أغسطس/آب 2010، حيث تولى مهام تغطية العلاقات الخارجية للعراق، وقاد جهود السفارة والمجتمع الدولي لدعم الانتخابات الوطنية الحاسمة في مارس/آذار 2010.

شغل رويبوك منصب نائب مدير مكتب شؤون شبه الجزيرة العربية من (2007-2009). من (2004-2007) عمل مستشار سياسي في سفارة الولايات المتحدة في دمشق. في عامه الأخير من تلك المهمة، شغل رويبوك منصب نائب رئيس البعثة بالنيابة. قبل مهمته في سوريا، عمل على تغطية القضايا السياسية في غزة، أثناء تعيينه في السفارة الأمريكية في تل أبيب من 2000 إلى 2003. شغل في واشنطن منصب مساعد لمساعد وزير الخارجية لشؤون الشرق الأدنى 1997-1998.

قبل انضمامه إلى وزارة الخارجية، عمل رويبوك كمدرس للغة الإنجليزية ومدير مدرسة في الطائف بالمملكة العربية السعودية من (1982-1987). عمل كمتطوع في فيلق السلام، وقام بتدريس اللغة الإنجليزية في كوت ديفوار من (1978-1981).

يتحدث رويبوك الفرنسية والعربية. ينحدر من منطقة روكي ماونت بولاية نورث كارولينا وحصل على درجتي البكالوريوس والماجستير في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة ويك فورست في عامي 1978 و1981 على التوالي، ودرجة القانون من جامعة جورجيا في عام 1992.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

فريق بايدن ينظر للصراع في سوريا بحذر

يتعين على فريق بايدن أن يقيّم ما إذا كان لديه النفوذ والدعم الإقليمي الكافيان إن كان يريد للوضع الراهن في سوريا أن يستمر.

Ambassador William Roebuck

Executive Vice President

Ambassador William “Bill” Roebuck is the executive vice president of the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. He most recently served as the deputy special envoy to the Global Coalition to Defeat ISIS and a senior advisor to the Special Representative for Syria Engagement Ambassador James Jeffrey. Prior to his appointment, Roebuck served as a senior advisor to Special Presidential Envoy Brett McGurk from January to December 2018.

Roebuck served as ambassador to Bahrain from 2015-17. He was appointed deputy assistant secretary for Maghreb Affairs in January 2013 and assumed additional responsibility for Egypt Affairs in January 2014. He served as Chargé d’Affaires in Tripoli, Libya from January to June 2013, earning the Ryan C. Crocker Award for Outstanding Leadership in Expeditionary Diplomacy. From September 2010 to December 2012, he served as director for the Office of Maghreb Affairs in the State Department’s Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs. Roebuck served as deputy political counselor at the U.S. Embassy in Baghdad from July 2009 to August 2010, covering Iraq’s external relations and leading the embassy’s and the resident international community’s efforts to support the critical March 2010 national elections.

Roebuck served as the deputy office director for Arabian Peninsula Affairs from 2007-09. From 2004-07, he served as the political counselor at the U.S. Embassy in Damascus. In his last year of that assignment, Roebuck served as the acting deputy chief of mission. Prior to his assignment in Syria, he covered political issues in Gaza, while assigned to the U.S. Embassy in Tel Aviv from 2000-03. He served in Washington as staff assistant to the Assistant Secretary for Near Eastern Affairs from 1997-98.

Prior to joining the State Department, Roebuck worked as an English teacher and school administrator in Taif, Saudi Arabia from 1982-87. He served as a Peace Corps volunteer teaching English in Cote d’Ivoire from 1978-81.

Roebuck speaks French and Arabic. He hails from Rocky Mount, North Carolina and received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in English literature from Wake Forest University in 1978 and 1981, respectively, and his law degree from the University of Georgia in 1992.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Abraham Accords: National Interests Enhance Prospects, One Year In

Conversations on the first anniversary with analysts and former senior U.S. diplomats point to the durability, usefulness, and limits of the Abraham Accords.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Gulf Reengagement With Syria: Heading Into the Wall

Gulf countries are reassessing their relations with the Assad regime, but U.S. sanctions preventing investment and reconstruction will impede any true reintegration of Syria into the region.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

The Biden Team Eyes the Conflict in Syria Warily

The Biden team must assess whether it has the leverage and sufficient regional support if it wants to continue with the status quo in Syria.