السفير دوجلاس سيليمان

رئيس المعهد

السفير دوجلاس سيليمان (Douglas A. Silliman) هو رئيس معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. عمل سيليمان سابقًا سفيراً للولايات المتحدة في العراق (2016 -2019) وسفيراً للولايات المتحدة في الكويت (2014-2016). في الفترة ما بين عامي 2013 و2014، شغل كبير مستشارين في مكتب شؤون الشرق الأدنى بوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية، حيث عمل على قضايا العراق وقمة قادة الولايات المتحدة وأفريقيا. شغل سيليمان منصب نائب رئيس بعثة السفارة الأمريكية في العراق (2012-2013) وقنصل للشؤون السياسية في بغداد (2011-2012) ونائب رئيس البعثة في أنقرة بتركيا (2008-2011). التحق سيليمان بوزارة الخارجية عام 1984.

شغل سيليمان منصب مدير ونائب مدير مكتب شؤون جنوب أوروبا بوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية، وعمل مستشارًا سياسيًا في سفارة الولايات المتحدة في الأردن، ومسؤولاً إقليميًّا لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط في مكتب منسق مكافحة الإرهاب، ومسؤولاً سياسياً في إسلام آباد، وفي مكتب شؤون الاتحاد السوفييتي، ومسؤولاً لمكتب لبنان، ومساعدًا استشاريًّا لمساعد وزير الخارجية لشؤون الشرق الأدنى وجنوب آسيا. بدأ سيليمان مسيرته المهنية كموظف منح تأشيرات في بورت-أو-برنس Port-au-Prince في هاييتي، وكمسؤول سياسي في العاصمة تونس.

في عام 2018، حصل سيليمان على الجائزة الرئاسية للخدمة المتميزة من الرئيس دونالد ترامب. كما حصل على العديد من الجوائز من وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية، بما في ذلك جائزة وزير الخارجية للتواصل العام في عام 2007 وجوائز الأداء العليا. وحصل سيليمان على جائزة سنكلير للغات (Sinclaire Language Award) في عام 1993 وجائزة دبليو أفريل هاريمان (W. Averell Harriman) للموظف المبتدئ المتميز في عام 1988 من رابطة الخدمة الخارجية الأمريكية. تقاعد من الخدمة الخارجية في نيسان 2019 بعد 35 عاماً من العمل الدبلوماسي.

حصل سيليمان على بكالوريوس العلوم السياسية، بدرجة الامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف، من جامعة بايلور (Baylor University) في تكساس، حيث كان أيضًا عضوًا في جمعية فاي بيتا كابا .(Phi Beta Kappa) وحصل على درجة الماجستير في العلاقات الدولية من جامعة جورج واشنطن. يتحدث سيليمان العربية والفرنسية. وهو متزوج ولديه طفلان بالغان.

بالإضافة إلى دوره كرئيساً لمعهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن، يعمل سيليمان عضوا في مجلس إدارة غرفة التجارة الأمريكية-العربية الثنائية (Bilateral US-Arab Chamber of Commerce) التي تساعد الشركات الأمريكية على توسيع نطاق عملها الدولي وتقوية الروابط التجارية، خاصة في الشرق الأوسط ومنطقة الخليج.

Ambassador Douglas A. Silliman

President, AGSIW

Ambassador Douglas A. Silliman is president of the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. He previously served as U.S. ambassador to Iraq from 2016-19 and U.S. ambassador to Kuwait from 2014-16. From 2013-14, he served as a senior advisor in the Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs in the U.S. Department of State, working on Iraq issues and the U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit. Silliman was deputy chief of mission at the U.S. Embassy in Iraq from 2012-13, minister counselor for political affairs in Baghdad from 2011-12, and deputy chief of mission in Ankara, Turkey from 2008-11. He joined the Department of State in 1984.

Silliman served as director and deputy director of the Department of State’s Office of Southern European Affairs, as political counselor at the U.S. Embassy in Jordan, and as the regional officer for the Middle East in the Office of the Coordinator for Counterterrorism. He worked as a political officer in Islamabad, Pakistan, in the Office of Soviet Union Affairs, as the desk officer for Lebanon, and as a staff assistant to the assistant secretary for Near Eastern and South Asian Affairs. Silliman began his career as a visa officer in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and a political officer in Tunis, Tunisia.

In 2018, Silliman received the Presidential Distinguished Service Award from President Donald J. Trump. He has received numerous awards from the Department of State, including the Secretary’s Award for Public Outreach in 2007 and senior performance awards. Silliman received the Sinclaire Language Award in 1993 and the W. Averell Harriman Award for outstanding junior officer in 1988 from the American Foreign Service Association. He retired from the Foreign Service in April 2019 after 35 years.

Silliman received a Bachelor of Arts in political science, summa cum laude, from Baylor University in Texas, where he was also a member of Phi Beta Kappa. He earned a Master of Arts in international relations from the George Washington University. Silliman speaks Arabic and French. He is married and has two adult children.

In addition to his position as president of AGSIW, Silliman also serves on the board of advisors of the Bilateral US-Arab Chamber of Commerce, which helps American businesses expand their international business and trade ties, especially in the Middle East and Gulf region. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the American Academy of Diplomacy.

2024 Outlook

On January 9, AGSIW hosted a virtual roundtable with its leadership and scholars as they looked ahead and assessed trends likely to shape the Gulf region and U.S. foreign policy during the coming year.

Will the Israel-Hamas Conflict Spell the End of Regional Reconciliation?

On October 12, AGSIW hosted a discussion on the Israel-Hamas conflict.

Petro Diplomacy 2023: The Energy Transition and the Road to COP28

On June 27 and 28, AGSIW convened its ninth annual Petro Diplomacy conference. 

Will Kuwait’s Upcoming Elections Help Resolve Its Political Gridlock?

On May 31, AGSIW hosted a discussion on Kuwait's upcoming parliamentary elections.

How Will Presidential Election Results Affect Turkey’s Regional Outlook?

On June 1, AGSIW and the Middle East Institute co-hosted a discussion on Turkey's presidential election results.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Iraq Looks for Expanded Economic Ties and to Put Baghdad Back on Washington’s Political Map

Iraqi Foreign Minister Fuad Hussein’s public outreach and official meetings seem to have put Iraq back on the policy agenda in Washington. But both sides will need to take further steps to sustain the positive momentum.

Videos content-type in which the post is published

Video – UAESF 2022: A Conversation With Vice Admiral Cooper

Vice Admiral Brad Cooper delivered the keynote address at UAE Security Forum 2022: Expanding Regional Partnerships for Security and Prosperity.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Iraq and Kuwait Close the File on Reparations, Look to Open a New Chapter

Iraq’s final reparations payment to Kuwait may open the door to increased cooperation, but competing visions and shared security concerns will shape the future.

Videos content-type in which the post is published

U.S.-Iranian Tensions: Iraq

Ambassador Douglas A. Silliman discusses internal Iraqi dynamics amid tensions between the United States and Iran.