إيما سوبريه

باحثة زائرة

إيما سوبريه هي باحثة زائرة في معهد دول الخليج العربية في واشنطن. تُركز أبحاثها على الاستراتيجيات الأمنية والسياسات الخارجية لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، خاصة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر والمملكة العربية السعودية. بالإضافة إلى الاقتصاد السياسي لتجارة السلاح في الخليج. نشرت سوبريه العديد من المقالات وفصول الكتب باللغتين الفرنسية والإنجليزية حول قضايا الخليج الأمنية، مثل فصل “السياسات الخارجية والأمنية الصاعدة: دراسة مقارنة لقطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة”، في كتاب “دول الخليج الصغيرة: السياسات الخارجية والأمنية”، الذي قام بتحريره خالد المزيني وجان مارك ريكلي، وصدر عن دار نشر روتليدج في عام 2016)

كانت سوبريه باحثة مابعد الدكتوراة في مركز Michel de l’Hospital Center (مختبر أبحاث العلوم القانونية والسياسية) بجامعة كليرمون أوفيرني (Université Clermont Auvergne) في فرنسا. كانت سوبريه باحثة زائرة في معهد دراسات الشرق الأوسط في كلية إليوت للشؤون الدولية بجامعة جورج واشنطن. وقد حصلت على هذه الفرصة كجزء من منحة “السفير” من الإدارة العامة للعلاقات الدولية والاستراتيجية في وزارة الدفاع الفرنسية. عملت سوبريه لمدة ثلاث سنوات ونصف في وزارة الدفاع الفرنسية، ولمدة ثلاث سنوات في شركة إيرباص للدفاع والفضاء.

حصلت سوبريه على درجة الدكتوراة في العلوم السياسية من جامعة كليرمون أوفيرني في عام 2017، ودرجة الماجستير في العلاقات الدولية من جامعة السوربون. في عام 2018، حصلت أطروحتها للدكتوراة على جائزة من معهد الدراسات الوطنية الدفاعية العليا. في عام 2013، تم اختيار سوبريه كباحثة استراتيجية من قبل المعهد الدولي للدراسات الاستراتيجية وكلية جونز هوبكنز للدراسات الدولية المتقدمة.

منشور المدونة content-type in which the post is published

عمليات تدفق الأسلحة من وإلى الخليج تواجه مزيداً من الرقابة

قد تواجه عمليات تدفق الأسلحة من وإلى الدول الخليجية تحديات بسبب الضغوط الاقتصادية الجديدة في الدول المصدرة والدول المستوردة، وإعادة تقييم التهديدات الأكثر إلحاحاً، والرقابة المتزايدة من الكونجرس في الولايات المتحدة.

منشورات content-type in which the post is published

أمن الخليج في عالم متعدد الأقطاب: تنافس القوة وتنوع التعاون

أصبحت العلاقات الدولية لدول الخليج تتسم بتنوع الشراكات، بما في ذلك مجالاً كان يعتبر تاريخياً محجوز للولايات المتحدة والحلفاء الأوروبيين، ألا وهو تجارة السلاح والتعاون الأمي والدفاعي.

Emma Soubrier

Visiting Scholar

Emma Soubrier is a visiting scholar at the Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington. Her research focuses on the security strategies and foreign policies of the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council, particularly the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia, and the political economy of arms trade in the Gulf. Soubrier has published numerous articles and book chapters in French and English on Gulf security issues, including “Evolving Foreign and Security Policies: A Comparative Study of Qatar and the UAE,” in The Small Gulf States: Foreign and Security Policies, edited by Khalid Almezaini and Jean-Marc Rickli (Routledge 2016).

Soubrier was previously a postdoctoral researcher at the Centre Michel de l’Hospital, Université Clermont Auvergne (France) and a visiting scholar at the Institute for Middle East Studies at the George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs. This opportunity was rendered possible by the “Ambassador” scholarship from the Directorate General for International Relations and Strategy (French Ministry of Defense). She worked for three and a half years at the French Ministry of Defense and for three years at Airbus Defence and Space.

Soubrier is an expert with the Forum on Arms Trade. She received her PhD in political science from the Université Clermont Auvergne in 2017 and holds an MA in international relations from Sorbonne University (Paris, France). In 2018, her PhD thesis received a Dissertation Award from the Institute for Higher National Defense Studies (France). In 2013, Soubrier was selected as a Young Strategist by the International Institute for Strategic Studies and Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

UAE Security Apparatus Central to Its Pandemic Response

The UAE’s growing military engagement has contributed to the steady rise of the armed forces as the centerpiece of a power and influence strategy carved out by the UAE’s de facto leader, Mohammed bin Zayed.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Arms Flows To and From Gulf Face Growing Scrutiny

Arms flows to and from the Gulf states could be challenged by new economic stress in exporting and client states, reassessment of the most pressing threats, and increased congressional scrutiny in the United States.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Gulf Humanitarian Diplomacy in the Time of Coronavirus

The Gulf Arab countries’ foreign assistance during the coronavirus pandemic hints at a slight evolution in their respective foreign policies.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Ego-balization versus Eco-operation: Prioritizing Human Security in the Face of Global Crises

The coronavirus outbreak presents Gulf – and global – leaders with an opportunity to prioritize human security in their foreign policies.

Publications content-type in which the post is published

Gulf Security in a Multipolar World: Power Competition, Diversified Cooperation

The international relations of the Gulf Arab countries increasingly have been characterized by a diversification of partnerships, including in a field that has historically been deemed the preserve of the United States and European allies: arms trade, and defense and security cooperation.

Videos content-type in which the post is published

U.S.-Iranian Tensions: Europe and Beyond

Emma Soubrier discusses the potential for European powers, as well as Russia and China, to build a multilateral negotiation process with Iran.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Air Power Procurement in the Gulf: From Sparkling Mirages to Strategic Ambitions

Air power procurement in the Gulf is increasingly evolving in line with two key ambitions: power projection and economic diversification.

Blog Post content-type in which the post is published

Macron Diplomacy: A Jovian Prince in the Gulf

The French president has a number of qualities that appeal to many Gulf leaders, which may help explain his recent success in bringing France, and Europe, to the forefront of different diplomatic initiatives in the region.